Azan’s scintillating ton powers Pakistan to win over India in U19 Asia Cup 2023

DUBAI: Azan Awais’s scintillating hundred guided Pakistan on Sunday to defeat arch-rival India in much-awaited ACC U19 Asia Cup 2023 clash by eight wickets.

Winning the toss, Pakistan elected to field first and restricted India to a total of 259 runs for the loss of nine wickets.

Adarsh Singh, Uday Saharan and Sachin Dhas scored a half-century each as India posted 259 for 9 against Pakistan in the ongoing Group A match in Dubai.

Adarsh scored 62 while Uday Saharan hit 60. Lethal pace bowling attack from Pakistan limited India to 259.

Pakistan were boosted with a classy ton by Azan Awais as they reached the target easily in 47 overs. Shahzaib Khan scored 63 while the captain Saad Baig hit a handy fifty and scored 68 runs.

Executing a determined chase, Pakistan successfully scored 263 runs in forty-seven overs with the loss of two wickets.

Earlier, Pakistan batter Shamyl Hussain talked about the prospects of the Pakistan-India fixture with ARY News. He said the Asia Cup is a pinnacle tournament and the side is not afraid of playing their arch-rivals.

Pakistan are placed in Group A alongside arch-rivals India, Afghanistan and Nepal. Group B consists of hosts United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Japan.

It is pertinent to mention here Pakistan were handed a seven-wicket hammering at the hands of India in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 fixture at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

Pakistan squad for ACC U19 Asia Cup 2023: Saad Baig (captain and wicketkeeper), Arafat Minhas (vice-captain), Ahmad Hussain, Ali Asfand, Amir Hassan, Azan Awais, Khubaib Khalil, Najab Khan, Naveed Ahmed Khan, Mohammad Riazullah, Mohammad Tayyab Arif, Mohammad Zeeshan, Shahzaib Khan, Shamyl Hussain and Ubaid Shah.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Gohar raises alarm on IMF program risk amid lack of Form-45...

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Barrister Gohar Ali Khan has intensified the party's stance on the release of election results under Form-45s and demanded the...