T20 World Cup: Babar announces 12-member squad for clash against India

DUBAI: Captain Babar Azam announced the 12-member squad for the high-voltage clash against India on Sunday in the ongoing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Announced in the press conference on Saturday, the squad also includes Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik who bring a comforting amount of experience to the side. Their previous experience of playing against India in the World Cups will be a definite advantage for the team.

Shaheen Shah Afridi, a 21-year-old prospect proven in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), who has dished out top performances in both warm-up games by picking up a total of four wickets has also been included.

Hasan Ali who is a standout pacer for the green shirts is also in the squad. The lanky pacer excels on the slower wickets in the UAE, his variations and lengths will be a tough task for the Indian batters to manage and they must play him with a cautious approach at the top.

After almost over two years, Virat Kohli and his squad will face-off against Azam-led Pakistan and rekindle the age-old rivalry.

Pakistan is yet to get a one-up over India in World Cups as the head-to-head has been dominated by the Men in Blue. However, both teams have entered the tournament with a fresh perspective, filled to the brim with enormous young talent and the hunger and eagerness to prove themselves on the biggest stage of them all.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Hasan Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

The banning obsession

Frequent bans of social media applications and streaming services without a calculated impact analysis has become a norm. What we cannot "presumably" control, we...

The Hindutva controversy

Foreign funding case