Governor administers oath to 15-member interim cabinet in KP

PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Governor Haji Ghulam Ali Thursday administered oath to 15 members of the interim cabinet.

A notification issued by the administrative department of the provincial government announced the cabinet was being appointed under Article 224(1A) of the Constitution.

Those who took the oath included former police chief Syed Masood Shah, Barrister Sanwal Nazir, Bakht Nawaz, Fazal Elahi, Adnan Jalil, Shafi Ullah Khan, Shahid Khan Khattak, Haji Ghufran, Khushdil Khan Malik, Taj Muhammad Afridi, Muhammad Ali Shah, retired Justice Irshad Qaiser, Manzoor Khan Afridi, Abdul Haleem Qasuriya, and Hamid Shah.

The portfolios of the ministers have yet not been announced, but Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader and former provincial finance minister Taimur Jhagra raised objections over the newly-appointed interim cabinet.

He shared the notification of appointments over Twitter saying, “Sadly, this looks like a PDM cabinet, barring a couple of names.”

The PDM has been challenging the Imran Khan-led government and has been running a movement against it since last year, demanding the resignation of the prime minister and dissolution of the assemblies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

IHC declares Shehryar Afridi’s arrest ‘against the law’

ISLAMABAD: The Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Monday termed the arrest of Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) leader Sheharyar Khan Afridi "against the law". Justice...