Zaka Ashraf appointed as chairman of PCB management committee

ISLAMABAD: The government of Shehbaz Sharif has appointed a new 10-member Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) management committee, headed by Zaka Ashraf, for a period of four months.

The management committee will hold its first meeting in Lahore on Thursday.

Ashraf was favourite to become chairman of the board last month but the PCB had to postpone that election after the formation of its board of governors — which elects the new chairman — was challenged in multiple courts around the country.

The government has removed PCB election commissioner Ahmed Shehzad Farooq Rana and appointed a lawyer of the Supreme Court, Mahmood Iqbal Khakwani, in his place.

The PCB election of its new chairman was postponed on June 26 after Balochistan High Court (PCB) accepted the petition of Gul Mohammad Kakar, a former member of the management committee, and set a hearing for July 17.

Before former chairman Najam Sethi dropped out of the election, he formed a 10-member board of governors that also included two direct nominees from Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, the PCB patron.

Acting chairman Ahmed Shehzad Farooq Rana then changed several of the board of governors, prompting Kakar’s court challenge.

Representatives of bigger cities such as Lahore, Karachi, Rawalpindi and Peshawar were replaced by men from smaller cities such as Dera Murad Jamali, Hyderabad, Larkana and Bahawalpur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Naqvi, Iranian counterpart reach consensus to ban terrorist outfits

Two sides agreed on a joint plan of action to deal with menace of terrorism being a common problem Decide to sign a...