Chaudhry Sarwar, Shah Farman sworn in as Punjab, KP governors | Pakistan Today

Chaudhry Sarwar, Shah Farman sworn in as Punjab, KP governors

  • Oath-taking of governors was postponed due to presidential elections

LAHORE/PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar and Shah Farman were sworn in as the new Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa governors, respectively, on Wednesday.

Chaudhry Sarwar was appointed as Punjab governor by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government in 2013. He resigned in 2015 and joined PTI, citing lack of ‘success in solving the problems of people’ as the reason.

Sarwar had then claimed that there was a ‘famine’ for truth in the country.

Meanwhile, Shah Farman was sworn in as KP’s 32nd governor.

Peshawar High Court (PHC) Chief Justice Waqar Ahmad Seth administered the oath to the new KP governor.

KP Chief Minister Mahmood Khan and Peshawar Corps Commander Lt General Nazir Ahmed Butt also attended the ceremony.

Earlier, the oath-taking ceremonies of nominated governors for the provinces had been delayed due to the presidential elections.

Chaudhry Sarwar had to take oath as governor of Punjab on Tuesday while Shah Farman was scheduled to be sworn in as governor of KP on Monday.

However, as the electoral college of president involves the members of Senate and provincial assemblies, both the nominated governors preferred not to resign from their Senate and provincial assembly seats.

Sarwar was elected as a senator in the recently held Senate elections while Shah Farman won a KP Assembly seat from PK-71.

Related posts