Pakistan implements ban on wheat imports from India and Israel

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan has imposed a ban on the import of Indian and Israeli wheat, while the commodity will also not be imported from Cuba, Iran, Syria, North Korea, and the Ukrainian territories controlled by Russia.

Pakistan has imposed a condition on global trading companies not to supply wheat from India and Israel. Wheat supply has also been banned from nations facing international sanctions, including Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria.

According to a document, wheat will also not be purchased from the Ukrainian regions under the control of Russia as well as Crimea.

Meanwhile, the moisture content of wheat in a tender for the purchase of 110,000 metric tons of the commodity has been set at 14.5%, while the presence of other items, including soil, will not exceed 1%.

Wheat is scheduled to start arriving in Gwadar or at the Karachi port on two ships by February 12.

The Trading Corporation of Pakistan (TCP) recently issued an international tender to procure and import 110,000 metric tons of wheat, according to European traders.

The deadline for submitting price offers in this tender is December 27. As a condition, the wheat should be from the latest crop.

Shipment is requested for 2024, in consignments of at least 50,000 tons during two periods between January 10-15 and January 17-22. The wheat must arrive in Pakistan by February 12, 2024.

The TCP has the option to buy 10% more or less than the tender volume. Traders suggest that Pakistan, facing financial difficulties, has a significant import requirement to address rising flour prices.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

IHC rejects DC Islamabad ‘unconditional apology’ in contempt case

ISLAMABAD: The Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Wednesday rejected the unconditional apology of the Deputy Commissioner (DC) Islamabad Irfan Nawaz Memon in a contempt...

Anything but democracy