PML-N may lose 10 MPs following botched Faizabad operation | Pakistan Today

PML-N may lose 10 MPs following botched Faizabad operation

–MNA Tahir Iqbal Chaudhry parts ways with PML-N

LAHORE: At least 10 leaders of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) announced on Sunday to part ways with the party following the Faizabad operation against the agitating Tehreek-e-Labaik.

Tahir Iqbal Chaudhry, while addressing a religious gathering in Vehari, said he could not remain in a party [PML-N] that had acted against upholding the sanctity of Prophet Mohammed (PBUH).

20 other MNAs were also ready to leave the party, he claimed, adding that they would leave the party in phases. Tahir Chaudhry said that he had already parted ways with the PML-N but won’t resign from his seat.

Separately, PML-N leaders arranged a meeting to discuss the strategy following the operation in Jhang, with Hameedud Din Sialwi in the chair. During the meeting, at least nine parliamentarians of the ruling party decided to resign in protest against the operation and presented their resignation letters to Sialwi.

The parliamentarians asked the Sialwi, the sajjada-nasheen of Sial Sharif shrine, to forward their resignations to the government if Zahid Hamid remained the law minister.

The disgruntled leaders who met Sialwi included MNA Sheikh Akram, Ghulam Muhammad Lali, Hamid Hameed and Zulfikar Bhatti, MPAs Abdul Razzaq Dhilon, Muhammad Baloch, Raja Munawar, Waris kallu and Mulana Rehmat.

Moreover, Raza Hayat Haraj, Nisar Jatt, Jafar Leghari, Khusraw Bakhtiar are reported to be among the disgruntled leaders of the party who are ready to part ways.

Related posts