Special Opp body to woo PTI allies to block budget | Pakistan Today

Special Opp body to woo PTI allies to block budget

As Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) scrambles support for the passage of the federal budget for the upcoming financial year, the opposition parties on Thursday formed a special committee to woo PTI allies to block the passage of the finance bill in the National Assembly.

According to reports, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has nominated senior leaders Khursheed Shah, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Shazia Marri and Sherry Rehman whereas the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) will be represented by Rana Tanvir, Rana Sanaullah, Ayaz Sadiq and Murtaza Javed.

Marriyum Aurangzeb said Shahida Akhtar Ali will represent the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) while Ameer Haider Hoti will represent the Awami National Party.

The joint opposition, in a recent meeting of the joint parliamentary party, had decided to constitute a committee to contact and convince the PTI-led government’s allies against passing what they have described as an ‘anti-masses’ budget.