Ashwin mankads Buttler, sparks controversy | Pakistan Today

Ashwin mankads Buttler, sparks controversy

Controversy erupted in the IPL clash between Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab in Jaipur after Ravichandran Ashwin mankaded Jos Buttler. Chasing 185 for victory, Royals were well-placed at 105/1 after 12 overs with Buttler leading the charge with a half-century. Ashwin, who then came onto bowl his final over of the game, saw an opportunity off the fifth ball to mankad the batsman, Cricbuzz reported.

Buttler, who had taken a few steps out of his crease, was eventually ruled out. The batsman was agitated and was involved in a heated argument with the bowler who appeared to say ‘you are not in the crease and you’ve been upsetting my rhythm’.

The umpires referred the call to the third umpire, who ruled Buttler out.

The mankad law was tweaked a bit at the end of 2017. Initially, a bowler was allowed to attempt a run out only before entering the delivery stride but now as per the new law, the bowler is allowed to run out the non-striker up to the instant at which they ‘would be expected to deliver the ball’.

Both these players have been involved in a controversy involving mankading before as well. Ashwin had mankaded Sri Lanka’s Lahiru Thirimanne in the 2011-12 CB series but the appeal was eventually withdrawn following discussions between the senior Indian players.

In the 2014 series between England and Sri Lanka, Buttler was at the receiving end when Sachithra Senanayake mankaded him in the final game of the series. Prior to the incident, Buttler was given a couple of warnings by the bowler which wasn’t the case on Monday.



Related posts

Top