ECP restores membership of nine parliamentarians | Pakistan Today

ECP restores membership of nine parliamentarians

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday restored membership of nine parliamentarians and allowed them to function as members of Senate, National Assembly and provincial assemblies on submission of their statements of assets and liabilities to the commission.

According to an official of ECP, the parliamentarians who were ceased to function on not submitting their asset details, now have filed their statements of assets and liabilities and fulfilled the legal requirement in conformance with relevant election laws.

He said that parliamentarians who have been allowed to function include two members of Senate, five members of National Assembly and one member each of the Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) assemblies.

These lawmakers include Rukhhsana Zuberi and Sitara Ayaz from Senate and Syed Javed Husnain, Arbab Amir Ayub, Hussain Elahi, Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhry as well as Mohammad Aslam Bhootani from the National Assembly.

Sardar Muhammad Awais Dareshak from Punjab Assembly and Faisal Amin Khan from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly have also been allowed to function as parliamentarians.

He said that out of total 1,174 members in the Senate, National Assembly and the four provincial assemblies, 848 have submitted their asset details while the remaining 323 have not fulfilled the requirement.

The official added that those parliamentarians who failed to submit their details of assets with the commission included 18 members of Senate, 67 members of National Assembly, 114 members of Punjab Assembly, 52 members of Sindh Assembly, 53 members of KP Assembly and 19 members of the Balochistan Assembly.