Seven accused in Naqeebullah murder jailed | Pakistan Today

Seven accused in Naqeebullah murder jailed

KARACHI: An anti-terrorism court on Wednesday sent the seven accused persons in the Naqeebullah Mehsud murder case to jail after rejecting their bail applications.

The ATC rejected the bail pleas of Akbar Malah, Muhammad Anar, Faisal Mehmood, Khair Muhammad, Imran Kazmi, Raees Abbas Zaidi, and Shakeel Feroze.

Last year, former Senior Superintendent Police (SSP) Malir Rao Anwar and Deputy Superintendent Police (DSP) Qamar Ahmed Shaikh along with other police officials were booked for allegedly killing four men, including young Naqeebullah Mehsud in a fake police encounter in Shah Latif Town on Jan 13.

On July 11, the ATC granted bail to Anwar against a surety of Rs1 million.

Earlier this month, the Supreme Court turned down a petition by Anwar, seeking removal of his name from the Exit Control List (ECL).

A bench of the apex court headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar rejected the former SSP’s plea. “We cannot strike his name off the ECL,” asserted the top judge. He also expressed displeasure over the provision of facilities to the accused and expressed surprise over his acquittal.

Rao Anwar retired from police service on Jan 1.

Related posts