PTI clinches PML-N’s PP-168 seat | Pakistan Today

PTI clinches PML-N’s PP-168 seat

LAHORE: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Malik Asad Ali Khokhar, who had earlier lost the PP-168 seat to Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Khawaja Saad Rafique, on Thursday stood victorious in a by-poll that was held in the same constituency of the provincial capital.

According to unofficial results, Khokhar clinched the seat of the Punjab Assembly by a margin of 687 votes.

Saad Rafique had vacated the seat after he reclaimed his NA-131 seat won in a by-poll held on October 13. He had previously lost it to Prime Minister Imran Khan by a margin of fewer than 700 votes in the general elections.

On Thursday, a by-poll was conducted in the embattled PP-168 where PTI’s Asad Khokhar bagged 17,579 votes against PML-N-fielded Rana Khalid’s 16,892.

A total of 11 candidates from different political parties and independents were vying for the seat with the actual contest being between the PTI and PML-N.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) was also backing the PML-N candidate in the constituency where the total number of voters is 126,912.

Earlier, as many as 83 polling stations had been set up and Rangers deployed for the security. Army remained on standby to cope with any emergency.

Related posts