Asia Cup: Pakistan win toss, opt to bat first against India | Pakistan Today

Asia Cup: Pakistan win toss, opt to bat first against India

DUBAI: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat against India in the highly anticipated match in 2018 Asia Cup at Dubai International Stadium.

After the toss, Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed said: “we will try to score more than 280 runs.”

Meanwhile, Indian captain Rohit Sharma said that they would have also opted for batting.

Both teams are facing each other for the first time since green shirts thumped India in Champions Trophy 2017 final by 180 runs at the Oval last June.

Further, it is the first match between both teams in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) since 2006, the last of their games which were also being played in Sharjah between 1984-2000.

Both teams have played 12 matches in the Asia Cup.

Pakistan has won five games while India remained victorious in six matches, while one match was abandoned.


Sarfraz Ahmed (captain/wicketkeeper), Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Harris Sohail, Imam ul Haq, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Mohammed Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammed Amir, Shoaib Malik, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan, Shaheen Afridi


Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Dinesh Karthik, Khaleel Ahmed

Related posts