Soomro rejects junior position in federal cabinet as six others take oath | Pakistan Today

Soomro rejects junior position in federal cabinet as six others take oath

–Muhammad Mian Soomro flies back to Karachi after learning that he was being given portfolio of state minister

–Umar Ayub, Ali Mehar, Ali Zaidi take oath as federal ministers, while Shabir Ali, Murad Saeed and Hammad Azhar have been inducted as state ministers

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MNA Muhammad Mian Soomro refused to take oath as a state minister, as six more ministers took oath of their offices on Tuesday.

Upset over being inducted as a junior minister, Soomro returned to Karachi from Islamabad without taking oath as a cabinet member. The federal government had earlier decided to induct Soomro as the federal minister for privatisation.

However, according to sources, “Soomro was informed a few hours before the oath-taking ceremony that he was being inducted as a state minister.”

Sources said that Soomro, who has previously served on top posts such as former caretaker prime minister and former Senate chairman, felt that it was inappropriate for him to accept the relatively junior position being offered to him.

Earlier, on Tuesday, the oath-taking ceremony of six more Prime Minister Imran Khan’s cabinet ministers was held in Islamabad.

President Arif Alvi administered the oath to the new ministers at a ceremony at President’s House.

Umar Ayub Khan, Ali Muhammad Khan Mehar and Syed Ali Haider Zaidi took oath as federal ministers, while Muhammad Shabir Ali, Murad Saeed and Muhammad Hammad Azhar have been inducted as state ministers.

The portfolios of the new federal and state ministers will be announced later.

The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Imran Khan, members of the federal cabinet and senior government officials.

Earlier, on Monday, the ceremony was postponed due to the non-availability of guests on a short notice.

On Saturday, the PM gave the go-ahead to include four more ministers in the federal cabinet.

It was reported that Umar Ayub Khan will be given the portfolio of Energy, Ali Zaidi will take the charge of Maritime Affairs, while Muhammad Mian Soomro was reportedly being made minister for privatisation.

Related posts

One Comment;

  1. Pingback: Six new cabinet ministers sworn in – UNEWS

Comments are closed.