ECP finishes initial probe into RTS malfunction issue - Pakistan Today

ECP finishes initial probe into RTS malfunction issue

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finished its initial investigation into the failure of Result Transmission System (RTS) during the recent general elections.

It was reported that the RTS mobile application has been “held responsible for the failure of the entire system”.

According to the investigation, “The system stopped working on more than 50,000 polling stations on election day, while the application got struck at many polling stations where mobile and the internet service was available.”

Earlier, on Saturday the Cabinet Division had recommended handing over the issue of RTS malfunction to the new government as no investigation committee had been formed so far.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had sent a letter to the Cabinet Division, directing to constitute an inquiry committee comprising experts from the National Telecommunication and Information Technology Security Board (NTITSB) and Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA).

According to the Terms of Reference (TORs) of inquiry, the committee will thoroughly analyse RTS, fix responsibility for its failure and also make recommendations for the future course of action.

Earlier, an official of ECP while explaining the reasons for the failure of RTS on July 25 said, “It is an international practice that systems are tested before implementing them but due to the shortage of time, RTS could not be tested before the election.”

He had also said that it was the demand of parliamentarians to launch and practice RTS in Election 2018.

Meanwhile, the Lahore High Court formed tribunals to hear the petitions filed by candidates of the general elections.

The tribunals were formed after LHC Chief Justice Muhammad Yawar Ali’s approval. A total of nine judges have been appointed to hear the election-related petitions.

The principal seats in the tribunal will be taken by Justice Mamoonur Rashid Sheikh, Justice Tariq Abbasi, Justice Shahid Jameel Khan and Justice Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal.

Related posts