CPNE announces to constitute Media Safety and Security Committee | Pakistan Today

CPNE announces to constitute Media Safety and Security Committee

KARACHI: Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) on Thursday announced to constitute its Media Safety and Security Committee.

According to a statement, the approval of setting-up this committee was given by CPNE President Arif Nizami during a recent meeting of Standing Committee.

The committee’s purpose and its set responsibilities would be to find out unanimous solutions to the security problems being faced by the editors, media groups and their employees in the present law and order situation, and also arrange security audit & risk assessment of media houses, safety training of media personnel and expansion of access to risk awareness and necessary training of the employees of media groups, as per their requirements, and coordinate with security-related departments.

The committee will be liable to inform the Standing Committee of CPNE about its decisions and recommendations.

Monthly Defence Journal Chief Editor Ikram Sehgal appointed as Chairman while Kiran Digest Group Chief Editor  Aamer Mehmood as Deputy Chairman.

Others members would include Arif Nizami (Pakistan Today), Imtinan Shahid (Daily Khabrain), Rehmat Ali Raazi (Daily Taqat), Tahir Farooq (Daily Ittehad), Dr. Jabbar Khattak (Daily Awami Awaz), Arif Baloch (Daily Balochistan Express), Hamid Hussain Abidi (Daily Amn), Adnan Malik (Daily Ummat), AijazulHaq (Daily Express), Imtiaz Alam (Monthly South Asian Journal), Kazim Khan (Daily Times), Anwar Sajidi (Daily Intekhab), Sardar Khan Niazi (Monthly Naya Rukh), Mumtaz Ahmed Sadiq (Daily AzadiSawat) and Tariq Aziz (Daily Sachal Times) would be the members of committee.

Related posts