After demotion, Hafeez mulling not signing new PCB contract: reports | Pakistan Today

After demotion, Hafeez mulling not signing new PCB contract: reports

LAHORE: Pakistan senior batsman Muhammad Hafeez has expressed strong reservations over new contract by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and is mulling not signing it.

PCB announced new contract on Monday demoting Hafeez to B Category.

According to reports, Hafeez is not happy with the demotion and he might not sign the new contract. He was not featured in any of five One Day Internationals (ODIs) against Zimbabwe.

The all-rounder was featured in B Category alongside Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Asad Shafiq, Hasan Ali, and Faheem Ashraf.

On Monday, PCB announced the list of 33 centrally contracted players for the 2018-19 season.

“The Central Contracts Selection Committee comprising Director Cricket Operations Haroon Rashid, National Chief Selector Inzamam Ul Haq, and Director Academies Mudassar Nazar, had recommended and PCB Chairman Najam Sethi approved the attached list of players listed with categories,” said a spokesman for the PCB here.

The 2017-18 Financial Year marked the conclusion of a three-year financial formula agreed between PCB and its players. In concert with players’ representatives Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and senior player Shoaib Malik, PCB is pleased to inform that it has reached a fresh three-year Financial Remuneration Agreement with its players, he added.

In the New Central Contracts PCB has raised the monthly remuneration for each of its categories ranging between 25-30% and has also increased its players match fees by 20% across all categories.

A Category: Azhar Ali, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmad, Yasir Shah, Babar Azam, Muhammad Amir.

B Category: Muhammad Hafeez, Faheen Ashraf, Asad Shafiq, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan.

C Category: Muhammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz, Junaid, Khan, Haris Sohail Imamul Haq, Muhammad Nawaz, Usman Khan, Shaan Masood, Imad Wasim.

D Category: Rumman Raees, Asif Ali, Rahat Ali, Usman Salahuddin, Hussain Talat.

E Category: Bilal Asif, Saad Ali, Muhammad Rizwan, Shaheen Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan, Umaid Asif, Hamza.

Related posts