England win toss, to bat first against India | Pakistan Today

England win toss, to bat first against India

BIRMINGHAM: England captain Joe Root won the toss and chose to bat in the opening test of the five-match series against India at Edgbaston in Birmingham on Wednesday.

“Looks a good surface. Some moisture which should burn off, looks good to bat… The selectors gave us good options and I am happy with the personnel we have,” Root said.

India have opted to leave out batsman Cheteshwar Pujara in favour of Lokesh Rahul, who has been in fine form in recent months.


England – Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (captain), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

India – Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

Related posts