NAB publishes list of those under inquiry - Pakistan Today

NAB publishes list of those under inquiry

ISLAMABAD: The National Accountancy Bureau (NAB), under Justice (r) Javed Iqbal, is sticking to its ‘hyper-active conduct’ by tightening the noose around all those who, allegedly through corruption, caused losses worth billions to the national exchequer.

Amid accusations that its guns are “always pointed in the same direction”, the anti-graft watchdog – that according to its chairman is apolitical – is “continuing its actions against corrupt elements in accordance with law without any influence”.


Among the politicians, bureaucrats, government  functionaries, businessmen and others, who are facing NAB’s complaint verification, inquiries, investigations and references as per law are former prime ministers Nawaz Sharif, Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Shaukat Aziz and Raja Pervez Ashraf, former Balochistan chief minister Aslam Khan Raisani, former EOBI chairman Zafar Iqbal Gondal, former Pakistan Mills chairman Moeen Aftab, former Establishment secretary Ismail Qureshi, former Punjab secretary Shahid Rafi, former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Ministry of Social Welfare secretary Naeem Khan and ex-KP inspector general of police (IGP) Malik Naveed.

Pakistan Railways GM Saeed Akhtar, former OGRA chairman Tauqir Sadiq, former FBR chairmen Ali Arshad Hakeem, Abdullah Yousuf and Salman Siddique, former Balochistan Finance secretary Mushtaq Raisani, former NICL chairman Ayaz Khan Niazi, ex-PTDC MD Mir Shah Jahan Kehtran, former Balochistan minister for Food Asfand Yar Khakar, former Evacuee Trust Property Board chairman Asif Hashmi, former advisor to prime minister Asma Arab Alamgir, former minister for Communication Khawaja Alqama, Bahuddin University Vice Chancellor Zafar Iqbal, former Sindh Assembly speaker Agha Siraj Durrani, Mian Mansha, Dr Asim Hussain, former Sindh minister for Information Sharjeel Inam Memon, former Sindh Information Secretary Fazal Pecheheo, former Karachi mayor Mustafa Kamal, Pir Sibghaullah Paghara, former Sindh Fisheries MD Nisar Morai and Sindh University VC Nazir Soomro are also among those in the anti-graft watchdog’s crosshairs.

Others include former State Bank of Pakistan governor Ashraf Wathra, former PSO MD Imranul Haq, Fateh Textile Mills Director Goharullah, former Sindh IG Ghulam Haider Jamali, PIDC CEO Khalid Chadda, Port Qasim Authority Managing Director Abdul Sattar Dero, former prime minister Shaukat Aziz, National Bank of Pakistan President Saeed Ahmad Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leaders including Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Monis Ilahi and Chaudhry Pervaiz Ilhai, former Sindh Home minister Sohail Anwar Sial, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders Capt (r) Safdar, Ameer Muqam, former Balochistan minister Shaikh Jaffar Khan, former KASB Bank chairman Nasir Ali Shah,  Riaz Hussain Pirzada, former minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafiq,  Lt Gen (r) Javed Ashraf Qazi, Lt Gen (r) Saeeduz Zafar, Major Gen (r) Hamid Hassan Butt and former minister for Finance Ishaq Dar to name a few.

Related posts