Polling scheme for Lahore finalised by ECP | Pakistan Today

Polling scheme for Lahore finalised by ECP

LAHORE: The polling scheme for Lahore for the general elections containing constituency list of polling stations, number of registered votes and other important details have been finalised by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

A total of 3,887 polling stations and 11,552 polling booths will be set up for 14 National Assembly constituencies and 53,98,622 voters in the city.

NA-124 tops the list with the highest number of voters (5,33,597) and NA-135 at the bottom of the list with 2,56,481 registered voters.

On the other hand, NA-124 has the highest number of polling stations (415) with NA-135 the lowest (181).

Elections are set to be conducted on July 25.

Contest for Lahore:

The Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) are set to face off against what is expected to be tough contests in all 14 constituencies.

In the previous elections held in 2013, the PML-N secured 12 out of 13 NA seats with PTI’s Shafqat Mehmood bagging his party’s only seat in the city.

PTI’s Dr Yasmin Rashid and PML-N’s Maryam Nawaz are expected to faceoff against in each other in a tough poll in NA-125 while Ayaz Sadiq and PTI’s Aleem Khan contesting in NA-129.

Similarly, PTI chief Imran Khan and PML-N leader Saad Rafique will contest from NA-131 while NA-130 will be the battleground between PML-N’s Khawaja Ahmed Hassan and PTI’s Shafqat Mehmood.

Here is an overview of candidate lists for each NA seat in Lahore:

NA-123: Riaz Malik (PML-N) vs Mehar Wajid Azeem (PTI)

(Previously NA-118, won by Malik in 2013)

NA-124: Hamza Shehbaz (PML-N) vs Muhammad Nouman Qaiser (PTI)

(Previously NA-119, won by Hamza in 2013)

NA-125: Maryam Nawaz (PML-N) vs Dr Yasmin Rashid (PTI)

(Previously NA-120, won by PML-N’s Nawaz Sharif in 2013 and Kulsoom Nawaz in 2017 by-election)

NA-126: Mehar Ishtiaq Ahmad (PML-N) vs Hammad Azhar (PTI)

(Previously NA-121, won by Ahmad in 2013)

NA-127: Pervaiz Malik (PML-N) vs Jamshed Iqbal (PTI)

(Previously NA-123, won by PML-N’s Pervaiz Malik in 2013)

NA-128: Sheikh Rohail Asghar (PML-N) vs Ijaz Ahmed Dayal (PTI)

(Previously NA-124, won by PML-N’s Sheikh Rohail Asghar in 2013)

NA-129: Sardar Ayaz Sadiq (PML-N) vs Abdul Aleem Khan (PTI)

(Previously NA-125, won by PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique in 2013)

NA-130: Shafqat Mahmood (PTI) vs Khawaja Ahmed Hassan (PML-N)

(Previously NA-126, won by Mahmood in 2013)

NA-131: Khawaja Saad Rafique (PML-N) vs Imran Khan (PTI)

NA-132: Shehbaz Sharif (PML-N) vs Ch Muhammad Mansha Sandhu (PTI)

(Previously NA-130/129, won by PML-N’s Sohail Shaukat Butt in 2013)

NA-133: Waheed Alam Khan (PML-N) vs Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhry (PTI)

(Previously NA-127, won by Waheed Khan in 2013)

NA-134: Rana Mubashir Iqbal (PML-N) vs Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokhar (PTI)

(Previously NA-129. Won by PML-N’s Shehbaz Sharif in 2013)

NA-135: Saif-al-Mulk Khokhar (PML-N) vs Karamat Ali Khokhar (PTI)

(Previously NA-128, won by PML-N’s Afzal Khokhar in 2013)

NA-136: Afzal Khokhar (PML-N) vs Khalid Gujjar or Malik Asad Ali (PTI)

(Previously also NA-128, won by PML-N’s Afzal Khokhar in 2013)

Related posts