Tribal areas in FATA re-designated as districts, sub-divisions of KP | Pakistan Today

Tribal areas in FATA re-designated as districts, sub-divisions of KP

ISLAMABAD: Tribal agencies and frontier regions in the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) have been re-designated as districts and sub-divisions of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP), reported by a local news outlet. 

This was briefed in a meeting held for reviewing Fata reforms on Monday. The posts of political agents and assistant political agents were also re-designated as deputy commissioners (DCs) and assistant commissioners (ACs).

Chaired by the Caretaker Prime Minister Nasirul Mulk, the meeting also discussed how to extend the reach of judiciary, police, prosecution and prisons services in these the said districts.

Caretaker Law Minister Barrister Ali Zafar and other government officials were among the people who attended the meeting.

The meeting was also informed that after the abolition of the Agency Development Fund, the collection of all taxes, levies and ‘rahdaris’ had been stopped.

According to a statement issued by the PM office, KP Chief Secretary Azam Khan made a detailed presentation on the progress of implementation and in the process, pointed out various administrative, legal and financial issues that needed immediate attention.

Secretary Finance Arif Ahmad Khan briefed the meeting about allocations for development.

Member Federal Board of Revenue (Inland Revenue Policy) Dr Muhammad Iqbal briefed the meeting about tax exemptions and other financial incentives provided to the people of the erstwhile Fata and Pata (Provincially Administered Tribal Areas) for the next five years.

The caretaker PM said that FATA’s merger with KP was a landmark development which had the potential of addressing the development lag and significantly improving the lives of tribesmen.

Related posts