ECP to hear Farooq Sattar’s petition on Thursday | Pakistan Today

ECP to hear Farooq Sattar’s petition on Thursday

KARACHI: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has decided to hear Muttahida Qaumi Movement – Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Farooq Sattar’s petition on Thursday regarding 12 lawmakers who defected from the party.

A three-member bench of the commission will hear the case.

In his petition, Sattar requested the ECP to take appropriate action against the nine provincial and three National Assembly (NA) lawmakers, against whom the party’s Rabita Committee had already passed a resolution on October 20, 2017, mandating appropriate legal action.

He told ECP that after leaving MQM-P, the lawmakers joined Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and made announcements in that regard on social media.

Lawmakers named in the petition include Sheikh Abdullah, Khalid Bin Vilayat, Dilawar Khan, Mehmood Razzaq, Irtiza Khalil, Nadeem Razi, Arif Maseeh, Bilquis Mukhtar, Iram Farooq Azeem and Salman Baloch.

Meanwhile, MQM-P has changed the date of intra-party elections from February 17 to February 18 upon the request of party workers.

Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui led MQM-P Bahadurabad faction also summoned a general workers convention on February 16.

Related posts