Pak cyclists to depart for Malaysia on Wednesday | Pakistan Today

Pak cyclists to depart for Malaysia on Wednesday

ISLAMABAD: An eight-member Pakistan cycling squad will depart for Malaysia on Wednesday to participate in the 38th Asian Track Championship, scheduled to be held at Kuala Lumpur from February 16 to 20.

“The squad consists of five cyclists and three officials”, said Pakistan Cycling Federation (PSF) Secretary, Syed Azhar Ali Shah on Monday.

The cyclists include Arsalan, Zahid Mehmood, Shakeel Jatt, Izatullah and Abdul Basit. They will be accompanied by PSF President Kokab Nadeem Warriach, PSF Secretary Syed Azahar Ali Shah and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cycling Federation (KPCF) President, Nisar Ahmed.

“Our cyclists have undergone tough training at a camp in Lahore and it is expected they would produce good results in the event,” Azhar stated.

The event will see the participation of cyclists from 42 countries. It also offers cyclists ranking points for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The PSF President and Secretary would also participate in the two-day meeting of Asian Cycling Confederation, taking place in Kuala Lumpur on February 18 and 19.