PCB awards 22 women cricketers with central contracts | Pakistan Today

PCB awards 22 women cricketers with central contracts

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Wednesday, awarded 22 national women cricketers with Central Contracts for the ongoing year after the team’s impressive performances in the recent World T20 as well as for maintaining a decent record last year.

“These contracts have been given to women cricketers for their outstanding performance and progress they have shown in domestic and international events throughout the year 2015,” said a PCB press release.

The one-year contract is effective from January 1, 2016 and is divided into four categories (A, B, C & D).

The national women’s team, under the leadership of Sana Mir, made headlines during the World T20 in March when they beat arch-rivals India in the group stage of the tournament before emerging victors against Bangladesh in the same round.

Although Pakistan failed to qualify for the semi-finals, their high-octane fielding show, along with notable effort with both bat and ball gave them a major chance to prove their potential as a world class side.

Anam Amin, who was the highest wicket-taker for Pakistan with seven scalps in four World T20 outings, was awarded with a category ‘B’ contract.

Wicketkeeper Sidra Amin, who showed some lightening fast skills with the gloves, was named in category ‘C’.

Category ‘A’

Sana Mir, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Wadood, Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar

Category ‘B’

Nida Rashid, Anam Amin, Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi

Category ‘C’

Sadia Yousaf, Sidra Nawaz, Rabiya Shah, Sidra Amin, Nahida Khan, Aliya Riaz, Iram Javed, Marina Iqbal, Sania Iqbal

Category ‘D’

Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Almas Akram, Aiman Anwar, Diana Baig, Ayesha Zafar, Kainat Imtiaz

Related posts


Comments are closed.