Tamim gives Zalmi seven-wicket win over United | Pakistan Today

Tamim gives Zalmi seven-wicket win over United

Tamim Iqbal’s 80 off 58 deliveries lead Peshawar Zalmi’s reply as they beat Islamabad United by seven wickets in front of a capacity crowd at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday.

The Bangladesh international smashed six fours and three sixes and was declared the Man of the Match.

Iqbal partnered with Shahid Yousuf (24) to establish a match-winning 60-run stand for the fourth wicket. Mohammad Hafeez also chipped with 25 off 14 balls to help his side with a good opening stand.

Despite losing Jim Allenby (seven) and Kamran Akmal (10) early in the innings, Zalmi didn’t panic and kept the required rate under check.

Earlier, Khalid Latif top scored 59 to help Islamabad United post 152-6 in the 13th Pakistan Super League match.

Latif was accompanied by skipper Misbah-ul-Haq (32) to establish a solid 57-run stand for the third wicket.

United’s openers Shane Watson (19) and Sharjeel Khan (28) provided their team with a good start. But rest of the batters, coming down the order, failed to capitalise on the momentum set by Latif and Misbah.

Zalmi captain Shahid Afridi had won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Both Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Asghar took two wickets, whereas Shaun Tait and Junaid Khan claimed a wicket each.

Zalmi, coming off the back of a tense win against Karachi Kings on Thursday, hoped there are no last-minute scares as they look to maintain their dominant run of form.

Junaid Khan and Jim Allenby came in for Peshawar while United brought in Mohammad Sami for the tall paceman Mohammad Irfan.

Peshawar Zalmi

Mohammad Hafeez, Tamim Iqbal, Jim Allenby, Kamran Akmal (wk), Shahid Yousuf, Shahid Afridi (captain), Darren Sammy, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asghar and Shaun Tait.

Islamabad United

Shane Watson, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Asif Ali, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Brad Haddin (wk), ADndre Russell, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal and Rumman Raees.

Related posts