Six-lane Karachi-Lahore Motorway to link port city with major cities in country | Pakistan Today

Six-lane Karachi-Lahore Motorway to link port city with major cities in country

After the Karachi-Lahore section of Peshawar-Karachi Motorway is complete, the port city will be linked with Multan, Faisalabad, Lahore, Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Peshawar, Gilgit-Baltistan and Azad Kashmir directly through a 6-lane, high speed access-controlled road network.

An official of National Highway Authority (NHA) told a local news agency that contracts for construction of 230 km Lahore-Abdul Hakeem Section of Karachi-Lahore Motorway now renamed as Peshawar-Karachi Motorway (PKM) had been awarded to M/s China Railway 20 Bureau Group Corporation i.e. CR20G-ZKB KLM (JV), while the 393 km Multan-Sukkur Section contract had been awarded to M/s China State Construction Engineering Corporation Limited.

About the Lahore-Multan section of PKM, he said that a contract agreement was being inked.

He said that PKM was part of the $46 billion China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project, aimed at upgrading and expanding Pakistan’s infrastructure.

The official said that the project would facilitate transit between Karachi and other cities including Hyderabad, Matiari, Tando Adam, Shahdadpur, Nawabshah, Khairpur, Sukkur, Pano Aqil, Ghotki, Abaro, Sadiqabad, Rahim Yar Khan, Zahir Pir, Jalalpur Pirwala, Multan, Khanewal, Abdul Hakim, Pir Mahal, Samundri, Jaranwala and Nankana Sahib.

He said that the Karachi-Lahore section of the PKM had been divided into four sections including 136-km Karachi-Hyderabad Motorway, 296-km Hyderabad-Sukkur Motorway, 387-km Sukkur-Multan Motorway and 333-km Multan-Lahore Motorway.

The NHA official said that work on Hyderabad-Karachi Motorway was ongoing and that it would be completed on time.

One Comment;

  1. Pingback: Pakistan Lahore |

Comments are closed.