PML-N’s Dr Shazra wins Nankana by-poll | Pakistan Today

PML-N’s Dr Shazra wins Nankana by-poll

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Dr Shazra Mansab has won the by-election in NA-137 constituency by securing at least 77,890 votes, according to unofficial results. Independent candidate Ijaz Shah has came second with 39,635 votes.

According to media reports the turnout in all 256 polling stations maintained at around 45 percent. It reported that PML-N supporters after victory opened aerial fire to celebrate Dr Mansab’s win.

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif has congratulated Dr Shazra Mansab on winning the Nankana by-election in a convincing manner. He said that this reflects the confidence of the people on the development-focused polices of the PML-N.

Earlier, voting for National Assembly constituency-137 was underway in Nankana Sahib where 10 candidates were vying for the seat which fell vacant after the demise of PML-N lawmaker Rai Mansab Ali Khan.