HEC confers Best University Teacher Awards on 63 teachers

Minister of State for Education, Training and Standards in Higher Education Muhammad Balighur Rehman on Wednesday said Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) government would undertake a number of steps to raise the status of teachers in the society.
Addressing a ceremony held to confer Best University Teacher Award on 63 faculty members of different universities, the minister acknowledged the role of teachers towards building the future of generations and urged them to be a role model for their colleagues as well as students. He appreciated the efforts of HEC for launching a programme for recognising the valuable contribution of teachers. He said that this national recognition of the contributions made by teachers would act as catalyst for others to enhance their efforts in the fields of teaching and research.
Addressing on the occasion, Higher Education Commission (HEC) Chairperson Dr Javaid R Laghari said that faculty was the heart and soul of higher education system and reputation of the institution depends on their performance. He said that the universities were supposed to build communities and economies but it was not possible without proactive contribution of teachers.
Dr Laghari urged the faculty members to ensure that the quality of teaching and research improves constantly. He underlined the importance of a strong linkage between universities and the society. He also appreciated the efforts of academics division of the HEC for organising a successful event.
HEC Executive Director Professor Dr Mukhtar Ahmed said the best teacher award program aimed at improving the quality of education along with enhancing external and internal efficiency of university education.
It also envisaged upgrading quality of research through staff development and provision of better facilities. He also underlined the role of teachers for bringing positive change in the society.
Around 63 faculty members of public and private sector universities received awards in recognition of their devoted efforts for playing an important role for enhancing the academic atmosphere in their respective institutions.
For the year 2011, 153 nominations were received from higher education institutions from all over the country.
After scrutiny and comprehensive evaluation, 63 teachers have been selected by the selection committee. This award includes a certificate of merit and a cash prize of Rs 100,000.
Best University Teachers Award Program was initiated by HEC in 2004 to improve the quality of education along with enhancing external and internal efficiency of university education.
The program provides monetary as well as self-esteemed incentives to teachers from universities and degree awarding institutions through awards and certificates.
Each year nominations for the awards are invited from the Public Sector and W category private universities and degree awarding institutions of Pakistan focusing on their contributions towards teaching, research and efforts for professional development. So far 349 awards have been conferred over a period of eight years under this program.
The awardees include Dr Asad Naeem, Prof Dr Abdul Rashid Naeem, Muhammad Ayub Siddiqui, Dr Nasro Min-Allah, Dr Abdul Majeed Khan, Dr Irshad Ahmad Arshad, Col Dr Muhammad Khan, Dr Zahid Rizwan, Dr Shaheena Ayub Bhatti, Dr Muhammad Irfan, Dr Ejaz Ghani, Dr Asifullah Khan, Prof Dr Zabta Khan Shinwari, Prof Dr Muhammad Ali, Dr Sheikh Saeed Ahmad, Dr Muhammad Mohsin Javed, Dr Faiz-ul-Hassan Nasim, Dr Raumish Masud Khan, Dr Anjum Zia, Prof Dr Ghulam Murtaza, Dr S M Saqlan Naqvi, Dr Sadia Shaukat, Prof Dr Muhammad Ozair Ahmad, Prof Dr Shahab Khushnood, Dr Khizar Hayat Bhatti and Prof Dr Umbreen Javaid.
The others are Prof Dr Muhammad Abdullah, Prof Dr Muhammad Umar Farooq, Dr Shakeel Khoja, Prof Dr Bikha Ram Devrajani, Prof Dr Rasool Bux Mahar, Prof Dr Abdullah Saand, Dr Inayatullah, Ghulam Mujtaba Shaikh, Dr Syed Tufail Hussain Sherazi, Dr Salimullah Khan, Mahrukh, Dr Muhammad Jamil Khan, Dr Hamayun Khan, Dr Niaz Ali, Dr Murad Ali Khan, Prof Dr Muhammad Subhan Qureshi, Prof Dr Siraj-ul-Islam, Dr Gul Zaman, Prof Dr Naeem-ur-Rehman Khattak, Dr Aurangzeb Khan, Dr Syed Mushtaq Ahmed Shah, Dr Jamil Ahmad, Tamoor Khan, Uthal Lasbela and Dr Rukhsana Jabeen.
Dr Muhammad Younus Khan Barozai, Dr Muhammad Aziz, Dr Muhammad Rafique, Nazima Ellahi, Dr Muhammad Asif Gondal, Prof Dr Iftikhar Ahmed Siddiqui, Prof Dr Aurangzeb, Dr Nadia Ayub, Prof Dr Aziz-ur-Rehman, Syed Faisal Ahmed Bukhari, Dr Farzeen Tanwir, Prof Dr Muhammad Abid and Syed Nadeem ul Hassan Mohani were also among the awardees.

Related posts


  1. M Subhan Qureshi said:

    Today's event was a graceful one; providing us an opportunity to meet with the best teachers and my family members enjoyed it too much at the end of summer vacation.

  2. NAJAM-U-SAQIB said:


  3. Khan Mohsin said:

    What was the criteria for award?when HEC can not define the quality of Education and they claim to award BEST TEACHER AWARDS????

    • Tajamul said:

      Well-done all for contribution in all four areas of services laid down in criteria. Inshallah we will follow you to grab the same award next time.

  4. Hassan said:

    good initiative to increase the progress of teachers and to maintain the quality of education in the Pakistan

  5. rabia hashmi said:

    dr.muhammad jamil khan frm gomal university.dera ismail khan..wow great sir..proud of u

  6. Rizwan Sandila said:

    we are proud of you sir… Prof. Dr. Muhammad Ali, BZU

  7. Khan said:

    Academic Achievements+Research+Administrative (establishing new deptts/desciplines) and outreach/community activities…
    All of thats makes the 100%

  8. Cyph said:

    Which Prof Dr. Umar Farooq? The East Anglian Graduate who is heading the Chemistry Department at the Bannu Uni? if that is the case ..Umar I am proud of you man. Keep it up bro.

  9. Mudassar Zafar said:

    You actually deserve much more than it Sir, such a hardworking, devoted and humble person i have never seen in my life. Prof Dr. Abdullah Saand.

  10. Shack said:

    love you Dr Sadia from University of Education, you are the future Education Minister, we are proud of you, you got this award at your young age, you are the youngest best teacher. God bless you future Education minister.

  11. Muhammad Afzal Khan said:

    I really feel pleasure to acheive Best Teacher award by Dr.Ejaz Gahani , My respected sir from PIDE, Islamabad. He really deserve for this award. I personally know about his nature.He is too much cooperative,honest,marally high values,good oeganiser and administrator.I have no words about his personality to explain his natural qualities.Good decision by HEC.

  12. Tahir shah said:

    I can see some young female teachers in this group photo, really feeling proud . females are moving forwards Well Done to all young female Best teachers…. Good luck for future

Comments are closed.