PPP, MQM agree on seat formula in Sindh | Pakistan Today

PPP, MQM agree on seat formula in Sindh

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) on Wednesday struck an understanding on seat adjustment for Senate elections in Sindh.
After the consensus between the parties, two of the nine PPP candidates would backpedal in support of MQM candidate. Seven of the 12 Senate seats would go to the PPP, four to the MQM and one to the Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F). In the first phase, Dr Kareem Khwaja withdrew his nomination papers filed for technocrat seat. Another PPP candidate Rashid Rabbani and either Sahar Kamran or Shahida Rehmani contesting on women seat, will quit their candidacy.
The PPP has also kicked off negotiations with Ghaffar Qureshi of the Likeminded Group to renounce his candidature so that all candidates of the coalition parties could be elected unopposed.
The allies’ candidate will win even if Qureshi does not capitulate, as his group has only four seats, while, at least 21 votes are required for the success of a candidate. According to the drawn up formula, Dr Abdul Hafeez Sheikh of the PPP will have technocrat seat, Haram Ram Kashori Lal the minority seat, while Ajiz Dhamra, Saeed Ghani, Dr Kareem Khwaja and Mian Raza Rabbani will be elected on general seats. The woman seat will go to either Sahar Kamran or Shahida Rehmani. A general seat has been doled out to the PML-F’s Muzaffar Hussain Shah. The seats given to the MQM will have Barrister Farogh Naseem on technocrat seat, Nasreen Jalil on women seat and Mustafa Kamal and Kanwar Naveed Jamil on general seats.

Related posts


  1. A Haque said:

    First it was Punjab and now it is Sindh. 'Bandar baant' all around. Do these politicians have no shame. People have no petrol, no gas, no electricity and all they are concerned about is parliamentary seats.

  2. Hamid Khan said:

    This is called democracy in Pakistan. Obviuosly the politiian are busy either saving their seats or snatching seats from other. why should they worry about people's issues.The pity is we keep on electing the same crooks.

Comments are closed.