Still no word on Abbottabad commission members | Pakistan Today

Still no word on Abbottabad commission members

Clearing all roadblocks in the way of the five-member commission formed to investigate the Abbottabad incident, the government on Saturday established a secretariat for the commission in the Cabinet Division to support and assist the members in their work. A statement issued by the prime minister’s media office had no other details about how the government would carry on with the commission, which already has faced a disaster with two of its nominated members excusing from performing the duties.
Justice (r) Fakharuddin G Ebrahim refused to be a member, while Lt Gen (r) Nadeem Ahmed is suffering from cardiac complications. Moreover, the government is also yet to seek administrative permission from Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry for allowing the apex court’s most senior judge, Justice Javed Iqbal, to work as the head of the commission. When contacted, PM’s Press Secretary Shabir Anwar said he had no knowledge about any new nomination for the commission, as the secretary of the commission Nargis Sethi was handling the matter. Despite repeated attempts, Sethi could not be reached for comments. The prime minister constituted the five-member commission for investigation into the Abbottabad incident on May 31.

Related posts