Standing committees eat away at taxpayers’ money | Pakistan Today

Standing committees eat away at taxpayers’ money

ISLAMABAD – With the ministries devolved, the redundant standing committees of both the houses of the parliament (Senate and National Assembly) still exist and their chairpersons are enjoying perks and privileges as before at the expense of a cash-strapped economy.
The ministries of Health, Culture, Education, Tourism, Social Welfare and Special Education and Livestock were devolved to the provinces on March 31. As the National Assembly standing committees on health, culture, education, livestock and dairy development, social welfare and special education and tourism have not been de-notified yet their chairmen Nadeem Ehsan of the MQM, Raza Hayat Hiraj of the PML-Q, Abid Sher Ali of the PML-N, Jam Mir Muhammad Yousaf of the PML-Q, Rubina Saadat Qaim Khani of the PPP and Usman Khan (independent MNA from Balochistan), respectively, are still enjoying the same facilities.
In the same manner, Senator Kulsoom Parveen, chairperson of Senate body on health, Senator Nilofar Bakhtiar, chairperson Senate body on culture and tourism, Senator SM Zafar, chairman Senate body on education, and Senator Professor Sajid Mir, chairman Senate body on social welfare and special education, are holding their offices as the Senate Secretariat has so far not de-notified these parliamentary bodies.
A source in the parliament said that the Senate chairman and National Assembly speaker were delaying de-notification of respective standing committees to oblige parliamentarians from different political parties.
It is pertinent to mention here that after devolution of five ministries, including population welfare, youth affairs, local government and rural development, zakat and ushr and special initiatives in December 2010, the prime minister had not relieved the affected ministers from their duties and they resigned with the rest of cabinet on February 9, 2011.

Related posts